How Do Texas Helmet Laws Protect Me in a Motorcycle Accident?
The state of Texas has many motorcyclists who travel to and from their place of employment or school. Many states like Texas, however, have debates on whether there should be strict helmet laws placed on people who ride motorcycles. Biker advocacy groups have argued that states and municipalities should let the riders decide what’s safe, whereas doctors and safety advocates argue that helmets should be required. Helmet law supporters often cite the number of preventable deaths that happen each year when riders decide not to wear their helmet on the road. Almost 250 people in Texas died in 2015 because they weren’t wearing a helmet, so it’s important to know why there are motorcycle helmet laws and why they were created.
Motorcycle Helmet Laws in Texas
As a motorcyclist in Texas, you are required to meet a few demands if you decide to not wear a helmet:
- You must be 21 years or older
- You must be covered by an appropriate health insurance plan
- You must have completed a motorcycle operator training and safety class
Formerly, a motorcyclist in Texas was required to have a minimum of $10,000 in health insurance coverage if he or she would like to be exempt from the helmet requirement. However, this rule was appealed in September 2009.
The personal injury attorneys at Stevenson & Murray know that riding a motorcycle can be dangerous, but that shouldn’t stop you from enjoying your mode of transportation. However, if you have been injured in a motorcycle accident, then we can represent you in court and may be able to get the compensation you need for your injuries. Contact us today for a free consultation